* First Announcement for the HTPD 2022 conference*

We are pleased to make the first announcement of the 24th Topical Conference on High Temperature Plasma Diagnostics.

The conference will be held in Rochester, NY, on **May 15 – 19, 2022** at the downtown Hyatt Regency, 125 East Main Street, Rochester, New York, United States, 14604. A reception will be held on Sunday night (May 15) to welcome the participants. We anticipate a full in-person meeting. The conference will be on a full 4 day schedule with a total of 8 sessions and an according number of invited talks.

For this announcement, we are using the email list from HTPD 2020, so please feel free distribute within your institution and/or to colleagues.

The conference web site is now open at:

https://htpd.lle.rochester.edu/

Important Deadline**

The invited talk nomination deadline is DECEMBER 10, 2021.

To nominate a speaker, please send the following information to:

HTPD2022@lle.rochester.edu

- 1. Title
- 2. Speaker
- 3. Justification for why this should be an invited talk. What it the work's significance? (please be brief)
- 4. Email address of nominated speaker

Self-nominations are encouraged.

Full abstracts will be requested for selected talks.

As in the previous years, conference proceeding papers will highlight the invited talks and the contributed poster presentations, anticipated to be published in the RSI journal. Please note that students can be first authors for papers but cannot be corresponding authors because they are not allowed to review manuscripts. Supervisors are strongly encouraged to register for the conference and be named as corresponding authors at the time of the conference. They should expect to be available for the pool of reviewers with the same expectation to review two papers per student. This should help to address the shortage of reviewers and share the responsibility for reviewing manuscripts more fairly.

We look forward to seeing you at HTPD 2022.

The Local Organizing Committee.

Wolfgang Theobald, Sean Regan, Mike Rosenberg, Hans Rinderknecht, Jim Knauer, Steven Ivancic, and Kim Truebger