Landau–Spitzer Award Winner, Wolfgang Theobald, featured in APS Honors Spotlight

LLE Senior Scientist Wolfgang Theobald was recently featured on the American Physical Society “Honors Spotlight.” Theobald was honored as a 2020 recipient of the  Landau–Spitzer Award by the American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics and the European Physics Society Plasma Physics along with LLE Chief Scientist Riccardo Betti and Xavier Ribeyre and Alexis Casner from the Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications. They were presented this award for “major advancements of the shock-ignition concept through collaborative experimental and simulation efforts in inertial confinement fusion research.” The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental, or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the United States of America by joint research or research that advances knowledge that benefits the two communities in a unique way.