Dustin H. Froula Recipient of E. O. Lawrence Award

On 19 January 2021, Dr. Dustin H. Froula will be presented with the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award from Department of Energy Secretary Dan Brouillette for “seminal and creative contributions in fundamental laser–matter interaction physics, and laser-driven plasma accelerators that have significantly advanced the Department of Energy’s mission, including pioneering spatiotemporal pulse shaping techniques, focused laser plasma instability research, and novel high-resolution Thomson scattering methods.” The E. O. Lawrence Award honors scientists for their exceptional contributions in research and development in supporting the Department of Energy and its mission to advance the national, economic and energy security of the United States.

Dr. Froula is Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Rochester, and Plasma and Ultrafast Physics Group Leader at LLE.

The ceremony will be held virtually and is open to the public. Please join us to witness Dr. Froula accept his award 1:00 PM Eastern on Tuesday, January 19th, 2021 on Zoom, or by visiting