Donna Strickland Fellowship Awarded

The inaugural LLE fellowship named for the 2018 Nobel Prize winner in physics, Donna Strickland, has been awarded to Katarina Nichols. Nichols will start her graduate career in the University’s Department of Physics & Astronomy. She grew up in Fairport, New York before attending SUNY Geneseo where she graduated with a BA from the Physics and Math Departments. Katarina is looking forward to bringing her interests in quantum mechanics to research at the University, potentially joining the research led by Prof. G. Collins on quantum materials under extreme conditions. Katarina is shown here next to the tribute to LLE’s Nobel Prize winners, Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland.