LLE Scientists Selected for Landau–Spitzer Award

The American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics and the European Physics Society Plasma Physics Division have recognized LLE Chief Scientist Riccardo Betti and LLE Senior Scientist Wolfgang Theobald as well as Xavier Ribeyre and Alexis Casner from the Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications with the Landau–Spitzer Award. They have been awarded for “major advancements of the shock-ignition concept through collaborative experimental and simulation efforts in inertial confinement fusion research.” The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental, or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the United States of America by joint research or research that advances knowledge that benefits the two communities in a unique way.