Rip Collins presenting at LLE

Rip Collins Named Tracy Hyde Harris Professor

The Deans of the University of Rochester’s School of Arts, Sciences and Engineering have recognized several faculty with named professorship titles since their last Distinguished Faculty Celebration held in January 2019. LLE’s Gilbert (Rip) Collins was named the Tracy Hyde Harris Professor. The Tracy Hyde Harris Professorship was established in 1870. Mr. Harris was a Baptist merchant from New York City who left a bequest for a chair that would be endowed in his name. Other notables who have held this title include Robert E. Marshak (Physics), 1952; John R. Huizenga (Chemistry), 1978; George McLendon (Chemistry, 1993); and Richard S. Eisenberg (Chemistry),1996.