Katelyn Cook at 2019 Omega Laser Users Group meeting with her poster; the inset shows her speaking

Katelyn Cook Winner of the 2019 LeRoy Apker Award

Recipient of the 2019 LeRoy Apker Award, Katelyn Cook is shown at LLE’s 2019 Omega Laser Users Group meeting with her poster entitled “Measuring Low Energy Nuclear Cross Sections Using ICF.” The Apker award, given by the American Physical Society (APS), “recognizes outstanding achievements in physics by undergraduate students, and provides encouragement to young physicists who have demonstrated great potential for future scientific accomplishment.” The award consists of $5,000 for the recipient, $5,000 for Houghton College (to her undergraduate institution’s physics department to support undergraduate research), a certificate, and reimbursement for travel to an APS meeting to give an invited talk. Only two awards are given each year. The inset shows her speaking to the Honorable Lisa Gordon-Hagerty, DOE Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and NNSA Administrator on “Using ICF as a Tool to Study Nuclear Physics” during a recent visit to LLE.