Dawson Award recipients

Research Conducted at Omega Wins Dawson Award


Research conducted at the Omega Laser Facility by the University of Chicago, University of Oxford, and LLE won the prestigious John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research from the American Physical Society. The award is in recognition of “innovative experiments that demonstrate turbulent dynamo in the laboratory, establishing laboratory experiments as a component in the study of turbulent magnetized plasmas, and opening a new path to laboratory investigations of other astrophysical processes.” The recipients include Donald Lamb and Petros Tzeferacos (University of Chicago, Flash Center for Computational Science), Dustin Froula (University of Rochester, Laboratory for Laser Energetics), Alexander Schekochihin (not pictured) and Gianluca Gregori (University of Oxford, Clarendon Laboratory).

Dawson Award Winners
Award recipients and their research team